Huerfano County Fire Protection District header
Fire Prevention
Board of Directors Documents & Forms

Other Links
Huerfano County Emergency Management
Huerfano County Emergency Dispatch
La Veta Fire Protection District

CodeRed image
Register for CodeRed
Department Events/Training

Contact Information
Huerfano County Fire Protection District

EMERGENCY call 911


(719) 738-1877
Fax: (719) 738-3444

Physical Address: 310 Main St.
Mailing Address: PO Box 1204

Walsenburg, CO 81089

Mission Statement
To protect those that live, work and play in Huerfano County, by reducing threats to lives, property and the environment. It does this by preventing threats through enforcing State and County ordinances, laws and or regulations and by strengthening emergency response capabilities to those incidents that cannot be prevented.
Huerfano County Fire Protection District Board of Directors
William Boeck

Scott Davis

Albert Anselmo

Richard Brewer

Karl Sporleder

Mollie Fuller
Executive Assistant

Gerald Jerant
Fire Chief

Tom Ortiz

Huerfano County Fire Protection District Personnel

Gerald Jerant, Fire Chief
Paul Gomez, Capt/Invstg
Larry Archuleta, Captain
Jim Morine, Lieutenant
Alex Roybal, Lieutenant
Frederick Partee, Lieutenant
Robert Martin, Lieutenant
Clarence Morey, Wildland Support Officer


Beverly Trujillo
Eddie Ray
Bill Verrill
Roy Britt
Peggy Dunn
Chris Vigil
Hank Summers
Charles Parker
Christie Lopez
Craig Lessar
Charles Prough
Guy Martin
Lance Martinez
David Medsker